883. Isaiah 40 (Comfort, Comfort Now My People)

You have access to this FlexScore.
General Settings
Stanza Selection
Voice Selection
Text size:
Music size:
Transpose (Half Steps):
Contacting server...
Contacting server...

Questions? Check out the FAQ
This is a preview of your FlexScore.

1 Comfort, comfort now my people;
speak of peace, so says our God.
Comfort those who sit in darkness,
mourning under sorrow's load.
Cry out to Jerusalem
of the peace that waits for them;
tell them that their sins I cover,
and their warfare now is over.

2 For the herald's voice is crying
in the desert far and near,
calling all to true repentance,
since God's judgement is here.
Oh, that warning cry obey!
Now prepare for God a way!
Let the valleys rise in meeting
and the hills bow down to greeting.

3 Then make straight what long was crooked;
make the rougher places plain.
Let your hearts be true and humble,
as befits a holy reign.
For the glory of our God
now on earth is shed abroad,
and all flesh shall see the token
that God's word is never broken.

Text Information
First Line: Comfort, comfort now my people
Title: Isaiah 40 (Comfort, Comfort Now My People)
Translator: Catherine Winkworth (1863, alt.)
Author: Johannes G. Olearius (1671)
Publication Date: 1996
Meter: 8 7 8 7 7 7 8 8
Topic: Comfort/Consolation; Forgiveness; Forgiveness from God (17 more...)
Tune Information
Name: GENEVAN 42
Composer: Louis Bourgeois (1551)
Harmonizer: Claude Goudimel (1564)
Meter: 8 7 8 7 7 7 8 8
Key: F Major

More media are available on the text authority and tune authority pages.

Suggestions or corrections? Contact us