He lives, O fainting heart, anew

He lives, O fainting heart, anew

Author: Johan Olaf Wallin
Tune: [Han lefver! o min ande, känn]
Published in 4 hymnals

Printable scores: PDF, Noteworthy Composer
Audio files: MIDI

Representative Text

1 He lives! O fainting heart, anew
With joy thy Lord and Saviour view!
He from the silent chamber woke,
And speaks again as e'er He spoke.
A quick'ning hand He has to give:
He lives,and thou shalt also live.

2 O hear His voice, and take His hand,
Thou traveler to a better land;
While passing through thy crucial test,
Lift up thy head,--a peaceful rest,
Thy trials over, He shall give:
He lives, and thou shalt also live.

3 Ye dead in sin, awake, arise!
The Lord is calling from the skies.
Repentant come, in faith remain,
And live in Him; from sin and pain
And death shall He salvation give:
He lives, and thou shalt also live.

4 With Him thy Guide, lies smooth and bright
Thy pathway to the realm of light;
Abiding faith, undying love,
And hope lead to the home above.
Thy life into His keeping give:
He lives, and thou shalt also live.

5 Of glory shall His raiment be;
O'er time and o'er eternity
The Sun of Righteousness shall shine;
In heaven's throne He sits divine;
A footstool earth to Him shall give:
He lives, and thou shalt also live.


Source: The Hymnal and Order of Service #136

Author: Johan Olaf Wallin

Johan Olaf Wallin was born at Stora Tuna, in 1779, and early displayed his poetical powers. In 1805, and again in 1809, he gained the chief prize for poetry at Upsala. In the latter year he became pastor at Solna; here his ability as a preacher was so striking that he was transferred to Stockholm, in 1815, as "pastor primarius," a title for which we have no exact equivalent. In 1818 he was made Dean of Westeras, and set about the task of editing a revised hymn-book for the whole of Sweden. This task he completed in 1819, and published it as, Den Swenska Psalmboken, af Konungen gillad och stadfästad (The Swedish hymn-book, approved and confirmed by the King). To it he contributed some 150 hymns of his own, besides translations and recasting… Go to person page >

Text Information

First Line: He lives, O fainting heart, anew
Author: Johan Olaf Wallin
Copyright: Public Domain



The Cyber Hymnal #11932
  • PDF (PDF)
  • Noteworthy Composer Score (NWC)


Instances (1 - 1 of 1)

The Cyber Hymnal #11932

Include 3 pre-1979 instances
Suggestions or corrections? Contact us


It looks like you are using an ad-blocker. Ad revenue helps keep us running. Please consider white-listing Hymnary.org or subscribing to eliminate ads entirely and help support Hymnary.org.