Dear Friend of Hymnary,

As you know, we don't ask for money too often. But we're asking now.

So before you hit the "close" button on this box, please consider a donation to keep Hymnary going.

More than half a million people come here every month -- worship leaders, hymnologists, hymn lovers and more -- people who now have access to the most complete database of North American hymnody on the planet thanks to this site. But keeping all of this afloat does not come without a cost, and we have limited sources of revenue. So if you benefit from, would you please consider a donation today? Even small amounts help, and they also let us know you're behind us and support what we do.

You can make your tax-deductible contribution by clicking the Donate button below, or you can send a check to Hymnary at 3201 Burton SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49546.

On behalf of the entire Hymnary team,
Harry Plantinga

Jesus lebt! Er hat gesiegt

Full Text

1 Jesus lebt! Er hat gesiegt.
Wer kann Seinen Ruhm verkünden!
Meine Sünd' im Grabe liegt,
Keine Schuld ist mehr zu finden.
Ja, Er lebt – ich sterbe nicht,
Denn Sein Tod war mein Gericht.

2 Jesus lebt! Er lebt für mich,
Nie kann ich verlassen stehen,
Er, der mich erwarb für sich,
Läßt nur Lieb' und Gnad' mich sehen.
Ob der Feind sein Haupt erhebt –
Dieses bleibt: Mein Jesus lebt!

3 Ja, Du lebst, Du bist gekrönt,
Hast den Himmel eingenommen;
Und nach Dir mein Herz sich sehnt,
Bis ich werde zu Dir kommen,
Bis ich schau' Dein Angesicht, –
O welch sel'ge Zuversicht!

Source: Glaubenslieder #9

Author: Carl Brockhaus, 1822-1899

(no biographical information available about Carl Brockhaus, 1822-1899.) Go to person page >

Text Information

First Line: Jesus lebt! Er hat gesiegt
Author: Carl Brockhaus, 1822-1899
Language: German
Publication Date: 2001
Copyright: This text may still be under copyright because it was published in 2001.