Dear Friend of Hymnary,

As you know, we don't ask for money too often. But we're asking now.

So before you hit the "close" button on this box, please consider a donation to keep Hymnary going.

More than half a million people come here every month -- worship leaders, hymnologists, hymn lovers and more -- people who now have access to the most complete database of North American hymnody on the planet thanks to this site. But keeping all of this afloat does not come without a cost, and we have limited sources of revenue. So if you benefit from, would you please consider a donation today? Even small amounts help, and they also let us know you're behind us and support what we do.

You can make your tax-deductible contribution by clicking the Donate button below, or you can send a check to Hymnary at 3201 Burton SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49546.

On behalf of the entire Hymnary team,
Harry Plantinga

O Holy Spirit now descend on me

O Holy Spirit now descend on me

Author: Christina Forsyth
Tune: [O Holy Spirit! now descend on me]
Published in 7 hymnals

Printable scores: PDF, Noteworthy Composer
Audio files: MIDI

Full Text

1 O Holy Spirit! now descend on me,
As showers of rain upon a thirsty ground,
Cause me to flourish as a spreading tree;
May all Thy precious fruits in me be found.

2 Be Thou my teacher; to my soul reveal
The breadth and depth and height of Jesus’ love;
Now on my soul Thy blest instruction seal,
Raising my thought and heart to things above.

3 Be Thou my comforter; when I’m distressed,
Oh, gently soothe my sorrows, calm my grief;
Help me to find upon my Savior’s breast,
In every hour of trial, sure relief.

4 Be Thou my guide into all truth divine,
Give me increasing knowledge of my God;
Show me the glories that in Jesus shine,
And make my heart the place of His abode.

Source: The Cyber Hymnal #10171

Author: Christina Forsyth

Forsyth, Christina, daughter of Thomas Forsyth, and sister of W. Forsyth, Q.C, sometime member for Cambridge, was born in Liverpool in 1825, and died at Hastings, March 16, 1859. During a long and painful illness she composed several hymns and poems which were issued as leaflets. These were collected after her death, and published in 1861, as Hymns by C. F. (Lyra Britannica, 1867, p. 233). From this volume the following have passed into a few collections:— 1. Himself hath done it all. O how those words. Resignation. 2. Jehovah Elohim! Creator great. Names of Jehovah. 3. O Holy Spirit, now descend on me. Presence of the Holy Spirit desired. 4. O what a happy lot is mine. Union with Christ. --John Julian, Dictionary of H… Go to person page >

Text Information

First Line: O Holy Spirit now descend on me
Author: Christina Forsyth



The Cyber Hymnal #10171
  • PDF (PDF)
  • Noteworthy Composer Score (NWC)


Instances (1 - 1 of 1)Text InfoTune InfoTextScoreFlexScoreAudioPage Scan
The Cyber Hymnal #10171TextScoreAudio
Include 6 pre-1979 instances