[O rest in the Lord, wait patiently for him] (Mendelssohn)

[O rest in the Lord, wait patiently for him] (Mendelssohn)

Composer: Felix Mendelssohn
Published in 4 hymnals

Audio files: MIDI

Composer: Felix Mendelssohn

Felix Mendelssohn-Bartholdy (b. Hamburg, Germany, 1809; d. Leipzig, Germany, 1847) was the son of banker Abraham Mendelssohn and the grandson of philosopher Moses Mendelssohn. His Jewish family became Christian and took the Bartholdy name (name of the estate of Mendelssohn's uncle) when baptized into the Lutheran church. The children all received an excellent musical education. Mendelssohn had his first public performance at the age of nine and by the age of sixteen had written several symphonies. Profoundly influenced by J. S. Bach's music, he conducted a performance of the St. Matthew Passion in 1829 (at age 20!) – the first performance since Bach's death, thus reintroducing Bach to the world. Mendelssohn organized the Domchor in Berlin… Go to person page >

Tune Information

Title: [O rest in the Lord, wait patiently for him] (Mendelssohn)
Composer: Felix Mendelssohn
Incipit: 13421 16671 55543
Key: C Major
Source: 'Elijah'
Copyright: Public Domain


Piano Solo

  • Dimensions in Praise: Piano Arrangements by Laura Bergquist
    Composer/Editor Laura Bergquist
    Published By: Tempo Music Publications, Inc. (1987) pp. 33


Instances (1 - 4 of 4)
Page Scan

Hymns for the Living Age #524

Page Scan

The Century Hymnal #413

TextAudioPage Scan

Youth Hymnal #216

Suggestions or corrections? Contact us


It looks like you are using an ad-blocker. Ad revenue helps keep us running. Please consider white-listing Hymnary.org or subscribing to eliminate ads entirely and help support Hymnary.org.