Text:Come Sing, Ye Choirs Exultant
Author (attributed to):Adam of St. Victor
Translator (from Latin):Jackson Mason
Adapter:Michael Praetorius
Media:MIDI file

1012. Come Sing, Ye Choirs Exultant

1. Come sing, ye choirs exultant,
Those messengers of God,
Through whom the living Gospels
Came sounding all abroad!
Whose voice proclaimed salvation
That poured upon the night,
And drove away the shadows,
And filled the world with light.

2. He chose them, our Good Shepherd,
And, tending evermore,
His flock through earth’s four quarters,
In wisdom made them four;
True Lawgiver, He bade them
Their healing message speed—
One charter for all nations,
One glorious title deed!

3. In one harmonious witness
The chosen four combine
While each his own commission
Fulfills in every line;
As, in the prophet’s vision,
From out the amber flame
In form of visage diverse
Four living creatures came.

4. Lo, these the wingèd chariots,
That bring Emmanuel nigh,
The golden staves, uplifting
God’s very ark on high;
And these the fourfold river
Of paradise above,
Whence flow for all the nations
New mysteries of love.

5. Foursquare on this foundation
The Church of Christ remains,
A house to stand unshaken
By floods or winds or rains.
O glorious happy portion
In this safe home to be,
By God, true man, united
With God eternally.

Text Information
First Line: Come sing, ye choirs exultant
Title: Come Sing, Ye Choirs Exultant
Latin Title: Plausu chorus laetabundo
Author (attributed to): Adam of St. Victor (ca. 1170)
Translator (from Latin): Jackson Mason (1889)
Language: English
Copyright: Public Domain
Notes: Alternate tunes: COME, SING, Thomas L. Forbes, in Hymns Ancient and Modern, 1889; ELLACOMBE, William H. Monk, 1868
Tune Information
Composer: Anonymous (1536)
Adapter: Michael Praetorius (1609)
Incipit: 51124 32322 11432
Key: G Major
Copyright: Public Domain

Adobe Acrobat image: Adobe Acrobat image
(Cyber Hymnal)
MIDI file: MIDI File
(Cyber Hymnal)
Noteworthy Composer score: Noteworthy Composer score
(Cyber Hymnal)
XML score: XML score
More media are available on the tune authority page.

Suggestions or corrections? Contact us