Beyond the silent river

Beyond the silent river

Author: George R. Clarke
Tune: [Beyond the silent river]
Published in 8 hymnals

Printable scores: PDF, Noteworthy Composer
Audio files: MIDI

Representative Text

1 Beyond the silent river,
In the glory summer-lands,
In the beautiful forever,
Where the jeweled city stands,
Where ever blooming flowers
Send forth their sweet perfume,
My heart’s most loved and cherished
In heav’nly beauty bloom.

Oh, the joy that there awaits me
When I reach that golden shore,
When I grasp the hands of loved ones,
To part with them no more.

2 And when I cross that river,
The first I will adore,
The first to bid me welcome,
Upon that golden shore,
Will be my loving Savior,
The one who died for me,
That in the long forever,
From sin I might be free. [Refrain]

3 The next one who will greet me,
In the mansions fair and bright,
Will be my sainted mother,
Arrayed in garments white;
And then the gray haired father,
Close pressing by her side,
Will grasp my hand with fervor,
Just o’er the swelling tide. [Refrain]

4 The curly headed brother
And little baby dear,
And bright eyed little sister,
With merry laugh and cheer,
Will all cluster round me,
To bid me welcome home,
And watch with me the gathering,
Of loved ones yet to come. [Refrain]

Source: The Cyber Hymnal #9634

Author: George R. Clarke

(no biographical information available about George R. Clarke.) Go to person page >

Text Information

First Line: Beyond the silent river
Author: George R. Clarke
Refrain First Line: O, the joy that there awaits me



The Cyber Hymnal #9634
  • PDF (PDF)
  • Noteworthy Composer Score (NWC)


Instances (1 - 1 of 1)

The Cyber Hymnal #9634

Include 7 pre-1979 instances
Suggestions or corrections? Contact us


It looks like you are using an ad-blocker. Ad revenue helps keep us running. Please consider white-listing or subscribing to eliminate ads entirely and help support