6572. To God I Cried with Mournful Voice

1. To God I cried with mournful voice,
I sought His gracious ear,
In the sad day when troubles rose,
And filled the night with fear.

2. Sad were my days, and dark my nights,
My soul refused relief;
I thought on God the just and wise,
But thoughts increased my grief.

3. Still I complained, and still oppressed,
My heart began to break;
My God, Thy wrath forbade my rest,
And kept my eyes awake.

4. My overwhelming sorrows grew,
Till I could speak no more;
Then I within myself withdrew,
And called Thy judgments o’er.

5. I called back years and ancient times
When I beheld Thy face;
My spirit searched for secret crimes
That might withhold Thy grace.

6. I called Thy mercies to my mind
Which I enjoyed before;
And will the Lord no more be kind?
His face appear no more?

7. Will He for ever cast me off?
His promise ever fail?
Has He forgot His tender love?
Shall anger still prevail?

8. But I forbid this hopeless thought;
This dark, despairing frame,
Rememb’ring what Thy hand hath wrought;
Thy hand is still the same.

9. I’ll think again of all Thy ways,
And talk Thy wonders o’er;
Thy wonders of recovering grace,
When flesh could hope no more.

10. Grace dwells with justice on the throne;
And men that love Thy Word
Have in Thy sanctuary known
The counsels of the Lord.

Text Information
First Line: To God I cried with mournful voice
Title: To God I Cried with Mournful Voice
Author: Isaac Watts (1719)
Meter: CM
Language: English
Source: The Psalms of David, 1719
Copyright: Public Domain
Notes: Alternate tunes: ST. MARY, arranged from Prys' Welsh Psalter, 1621; WALSALL, attributed to Henry Purcell in Anchor's A Choice Collection, circa 1721
Tune Information
Name: ST. NICHOLAS (Greene)
Composer: Maurice Greene, 1696-1755
Meter: CM
Incipit: 13515 65432 12345
Key: e minor
Copyright: Public Domain

Adobe Acrobat image: Adobe Acrobat image
(Cyber Hymnal)
MIDI file: MIDI File
(Cyber Hymnal)
Noteworthy Composer score: Noteworthy Composer score
(Cyber Hymnal)
XML score: XML score
More media are available on the tune authority page.

Suggestions or corrections? Contact us