Dear Hymnary friend,

We don't often ask for money. Just twice a year. This is one of those times. Please, before you hit the "close" button on this box, would you consider a donation to keep going?

Last month, according to Google Analytics, our Hymnary website had roughly 1 million sessions from approximately 750,000 users. What a blessing! But it is expensive to serve all of these people -- worship leaders, hymnologists, hymn lovers and more -- people like you who love hymns. And we have limited sources of revenue. This fund drive is one critical source.

So if you benefit from, would you please consider a donation today? Even small amounts help, and they also let us know you're behind us and support what we do.

You can make your tax-deductible contribution by sending a check to at 3201 Burton SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49546 , or you can click the Donate button below.

On behalf of the entire team,
Harry Plantinga

120C. O God of Love, Forever Blest

1 O God of love, forever blest,
pity my suffering state.
When will you set my soul at rest
from lips that love deceit?

Too long my soul (has made its home)
with those who lift the sword.
I am for peace (but when I speak),
they make for war.

2 I cried in trouble to the Lord,
and he has answered me.
From lying lips and crafty tongue,
O Lord, my soul set free. [Refrain]

Text Information
First Line: O God of love, forever blest
Title: O God of Love, Forever Blest
Author: Isaac Watts, 1674-1748 (alt. )
Author (prayer): Linea Reimer Geiser
Refrain First Line: Too long my soul has made its home
Meter: with refrain
Publication Date: 2012
Topic: Affliction; Peace; Peacemakers (3 more...)
Copyright: Prayer © 1988 Linea Reimer Geiser
Notes: The lead and echo arrangement of the refrain is an option and can be sung by any two groups. When the echo is not used, sing the entire text, with the exception of the repeated “who lift.”. Optional concluding prayer included.
Tune Information
Name: SHALOM 120
Composer: Bruce Benedict
Arranger: Greg Scheer
Meter: with refrain
Key: F Major
Copyright: © 2009 Cardiphonia Music ; Arr. © 2011 Greg Scheer

More media are available on the text authority and tune authority pages.

Suggestions or corrections? Contact us