1108. He Knows

1 I know not what awaits me,
God kindly veils mine eyes,
And o’er each step of my onward way
He makes new scenes to rise;
And every joy He sends me, comes
A sweet and glad surprise.

Where He may lead me I’ll follow,
My trust in Him repose,
And every hour in perfect peace
I’ll sing, He knows, He knows;
And every hour in perfect peace
I’ll sing, He knows, He knows.

2 One step I see before me,
’Tis all I need to see,
The light of Heav’n more brightly shines,
When earth’s illusions flee;
And sweetly through the silence, came
His loving “Follow Me.” [Refrain]

3 Oh, blissful lack of wisdom,
’Tis blessed not to know;
He holds me with His own right hand,
And will not let me go,
And lulls my troubled soul to rest
In Him Who loves me so. [Refrain]

4 So on I go not knowing,
I would not if I might;
I’d rather walk in the dark with God
Than go alone in the light;
I’d rather walk in faith with Him
Than go alone by sight. [Refrain]

Text Information
First Line: I know not what awaits me
Title: He Knows
Author: Mary G. Brainard (1869)
Arranger: P. P. B. (1876)
Source: Timeless Truths (http://library.timelesstruths.org/music/He_Knows)
Refrain First Line: Where He may lead me I’ll follow
Tune Information
Name: [I know not what awaits me]
Composer: Philip P. Bliss (1876)
Key: E♭ Major
Source: Timeless Truths (http://library.timelesstruths.org/music/He_Knows)

More media are available on the text authority and tune authority pages.

Suggestions or corrections? Contact us