A. Brooks Everett

A. Brooks Everett
Short Name: A. Brooks Everett
Full Name: Everett, A. Brooks (Asa Brooks), 1828-1875
Birth Year: 1828
Death Year: 1875

Asa Brooks Everett MusDoc USA 1828-1875. Born in VA, he planned to be a doctor, but decided to study music instead. He studied in Boston for four years and also in Leipzig, Germany for four years.. He composed many gospel tunes and edited “The Sceptre” a New York publication. His brothers, Benjamin and Leonard, were also composers. He and Leonard organized a musical instruction system in Richmond, VA, in the 1850s. By 1861, 50 teachers and singing schools were representing them and using their publications. He died in Nashville, TN.

John Perry

Data Sources

Suggestions or corrections? Contact us