Celebrate 10 years of Hymnary.org!

It's Hymnary's 10th birthday this month and to celebrate, we're giving the gifts! Want a free FlexScore? Look for the "Claim Free FlexScore" button on any public domain FlexScore page and enjoy a complimentary FlexScore on us.

Coming, coming, yes, they are

Coming, coming, yes, they are

Author: J. Wakefield MacGill
Published in 36 hymnals

Printable scores: PDF, MusicXML
Audio files: MIDI

Full Text

Coming, coming, yes they are,
Coming, coming from afar,

1. From the wild and scorching desert,
Afric’s sons awaked from sleep;
Jesus’ love has drawn and won them,
At His cross they bow and weep. [Refrain]

2. From the fields and crowded cities,
China gathers to His feet;
In His love Shem’s gentle children,
Now have found a safe retreat. [Refrain]

3. From the Indus, and the Ganges,
Steady flows the living stream,
To love’s ocean, to His bosom,
Calvary their wond’ring theme. [Refrain]

4. From the steppes of Russia dreary,
From Slavonia’s scattered lands,
They are yielding soul and spirit
Into Jesus’ loving hands. [Refrain]

5. From the frozen realms of midnight,
Over many a weary mile,
To exchange their soul’s long winter
For the summer of His smile. [Refrain]

6. All to meet in plains of glory,
All to sing His praises sweet;
What a chorus, what a meeting,
With the family complete! [Refrain]

Source: The Cyber Hymnal #775

Author: J. Wakefield MacGill

(no biographical information available about J. Wakefield MacGill.) Go to person page >

Text Information

First Line: Coming, coming, yes, they are
Author: J. Wakefield MacGill



The Cyber Hymnal #775
  • Adobe Acrobat image (PDF)
  • Noteworthy Composer score (NWC)
  • XML score (XML)
Suggestions or corrections? Contact us