Jesus Wept

Jesus wept, O wondrous thought

Author: S. Pike
Tune: [Jesus wept, O wondrous thought]
Published in 3 hymnals

Printable scores: PDF, Noteworthy Composer
Audio files: MIDI

Representative Text

1 Jesus wept—oh, wondrous thought,
Seal of love from heaven;
Tears with which our joy was bought,
Pledge of sin forgiven;
Tear-drops from the court above;
Welling out in sadness;
Justice satisfied by love,
Pitying human madness.

2 Jesus wept—the blessed dew
On the grave descended;
There the monster death he slew,
Life and love were blended;
Life immortal, life for man,
Born of love supernal;
Life that circles in its span,
Heav’nly joys eternal.

3 Jesus wept—let ev’ry voice
Join the swelling chorus;
He hath bidden us rejoice,
While he sorrow’d o’er us;
To the little children’s lot
This blest hope was given;
Suffer, and forbid them not,
For of such is heaven.

4 Join we then the glad refrain,
Sweetest anthems bringing;
Catch the soul-inspiring strain,
Angel hosts are singing;
“Hallelujah to the Lamb!”
Wonderful the story!
Praises to the great “I Am,”
“Blessing, honor, glory.”

Source: Good Will: A collection of New Music for Sabbath Schools and Gospel Meetings (Enlarged) #111

Author: S. Pike

(no biographical information available about S. Pike.) Go to person page >

Text Information

First Line: Jesus wept, O wondrous thought
Title: Jesus Wept
Author: S. Pike
Language: English
Copyright: Public Domain



Instances (1 - 1 of 1)

The Cyber Hymnal #15897

Include 2 pre-1979 instances
Suggestions or corrections? Contact us