John Saw the Heav'n and Earth Made New

John saw the Heav'n and earth made new

Author: Louise Lapp (19th Century)
Published in 4 hymnals

Printable scores: PDF, MusicXML
Audio files: MIDI

Representative Text

1. John saw the Heav’n and earth made new,
The first had passed away,
The holy city coming down,
The new Jerusalem.

2. And God Himself shall dwell with men,
And wipe away all tears,
There is no sorrow, pain or death,
Throughout the coming years.

3. Behold, I make all things anew,
These faithful words are true,
To him who overcometh sin,
On earth with God shall rule.

4. In beautiful Jerusalem,
God’s glory gives it light,
All kings and nations walk in it,
For there shall be no night.

Author: Louise Lapp

19th Century Go to person page >

Text Information

First Line: John saw the Heav'n and earth made new
Title: John Saw the Heav'n and Earth Made New
Author: Louise Lapp (19th Century)
Language: English



MC KEE has an interesting history. According to a letter from Charles V. Stanford (PHH 512) to Samuel Coleridge-Taylor (who arranged the tune for piano in his Twenty-Four Negro Melodies, 1905), MC KEE was originally an Irish tune taken to the United States and adapted by African American slaves. It…

Go to tune page >



The Cyber Hymnal #3437
  • Adobe Acrobat image (PDF)
  • Noteworthy Composer score (NWC)
  • XML score (XML)


Instances (1 - 4 of 4)

Rejoice Hymns #630

The Covenant Hymnal: a worshipbook #776


The Cyber Hymnal #3437

TextPage Scan

The Hymnal for Worship and Celebration #547

Suggestions or corrections? Contact us