Earthen Vessels

Author: John B. Foley, SJ

John Foley, S. J. (born 1939) is an American composer of Catholic liturgical music and a professor of liturgy at St. Louis University. Among his better known compositions are "One Bread, One Body" (1978), "Earthen Vessels" (1975), "Come to the Water" (1978), "The Cry of the Poor" (1978), "For You Are My God" (1970), and the album "As a River of Light" (1989). Much of his early work on liturgical music was as a member of a group called the St. Louis Jesuits, with whom he released several albums. Other members of the St. Louis Jesuits were Dan Schutte, Bob Dufford, Roc O'Connor, and Tim Manion. He has also released several solo collections of liturgical music. Both the solo and the group efforts were released through publishers OCP (former… Go to person page >

Text Information

First Line: Light has shone in our darkness
Title: Earthen Vessels
Author: John B. Foley, SJ
Language: English
Refrain First Line: We hold a treasure, not made of gold
Notes: Words altered with permission
Copyright: © 1975, 1978 John B. Foley, SJ and New Dawn Music


Instances (1 - 1 of 1)

Catholic Book of Worship III #445

Suggestions or corrections? Contact us