The Beatitudes

Representative Text

The Beatitudes, the Beatitudes,
Sermon on the mountain top.
Blessed, O blessed.

1 Blessed are the poor in spirit
for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.

2 Blessed are they that mourn
for they shall be comforted.

3 Blessed are the meek
for they shall be filled.

4 Blessed are they which do hunger and thirst
after righteousness.

For they shall be filled.

5 Blessed are the merciful
for they shall obtain mercy.

6 Blessed are the pure in heart
for they shall see God.

7 Blessed are the peacemakers
for they shall be called children of God.

8 Blessed are they which are persecuted
for righteousness.

For theirs is the kingdom of heaven.

Blessed are ye when men shall revile you
and say all manner of evil against you,
for theirs is the kingdom of heaven,
for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.
Amen amen.

Source: Yes, Lord!: Church of God in Christ hymnal #81

Author: Mattie Moss Clark

Dr. Mattie Moss Clark was born in Selma, Alabama. She began playing piano at an early age. She was trained in classical music and choral singing at Selma University. She moved to Detroit in 1947 and became Minister of Music at the Greater Love Tabernacle Church of God in Christ. She then served many years as Minister of Music at Bailey Temple Church of God in Christ and the Southwest Michigan Jurisdiction. Clark was president of the National Music Department of the Church of God in Christ for 25 years. She was the mother of the Clark Sisters (Jacky, Twinkie, Karen, and Dorinda) who performed many of Mattie Moss Clark's arrangements as a group in her church. She was a leading choir director who also trained many choirs throughout the Church… Go to person page >

Text Information

First Line: The Beatitudes, the Beatitudes
Title: The Beatitudes
Author: Mattie Moss Clark
Language: English
Copyright: Public Domain


Instances (1 - 1 of 1)
TextPage Scan

Yes, Lord! #81

Suggestions or corrections? Contact us