Promise Mercies

Thy promised mercies send to me

Tune: SARAH (Gabriel)
Published in 9 hymnals

Printable scores: PDF, MusicXML
Audio files: MIDI

Representative Text

1 Thy promised mercies send to me,
Thy great salvation, Lord;
So shall I answer those who scoff;
My trust is in Thy word.

2 My hope is in thy judgment, Lord;
Take not thy truth from me,
And in thy law for evermore
My daily walk shall be.

3 And I will walk at liberty
Because Thy truth I seek;
Thy truth before the kings of earth
With boldness I will speak.

4 The Lord's commands, which I have loved,
Shall still new joy impart;
With reverence I will hear Thy laws
And keep them in my heart.

The Psalter: with responsive readings, 1912

Text Information

First Line: Thy promised mercies send to me
Title: Promise Mercies
Language: English


SARAH (Gabriel)

LAMBETH (Schulthes)

This tune has been mis-attributed to various other composers, but is clearly the work of the above-named composer.

Go to tune page >

[O Christian traveler, fear no more]



The Cyber Hymnal #6890
  • Adobe Acrobat image (PDF)
  • Noteworthy Composer score (NWC)
  • XML score (XML)


Instances (1 - 1 of 1)

The Cyber Hymnal #6890

Include 8 pre-1979 instances
Suggestions or corrections? Contact us