So far in 2022, 11 million people from 200-plus countries around the world have benefitted from the Hymnary website! Thank you to all who use and all who support it with gifts of time, talent and treasure. If you feel moved to support our work today with a gift of any amount and a word of encouragement, we would be grateful. You can donate online at our secure giving site. Or, if you'd like to make a gift by check, please send it to:, Calvin University, 3201 Burton Street SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49546. May the hope, love, joy and peace of Advent be yours this day and always.


Composer: Carl Schalk

Carl F. Schalk (b. Des Plaines, IL, 1929) is professor of music emeritus at Concordia University, River Forest, Illinois, where he taught church music since 1965. He completed gradu­ate work at the Eastman School of Music in Rochester, New York, and at Concordia Seminary, St. Louis, Missouri. From 1952 to 1956 he taught and directed music at Zion Lutheran Church in Wausau, Wisconsin, and from 1958 to 1965 served as director of music for the International Lutheran Hour. Honored as a Fellow of the Hymn Society in the United States and Canada in 1992, Schalk was editor of the Church Music journal (1966-1980), a member of the committee that prepared the Lutheran Book of Worship (1978), and a widely published composer of church music. Included… Go to person page >

Tune Information

Composer: Carl Schalk
Incipit: 55566 11555 51321
Key: A♭ Major
Copyright: © 1989 GIA Publications, Inc.



Organ Solo

  • Easy Hymn Preludes for Organ Volume 1: Musica Sacra
    Composer/Editor Carl Flentge Schalk
    Published By: Concordia Publishing House (2002) pp. 26
  • Eight Improvisations on 20th Century Hymn Tunes Set 2
    Composer/Editor Michael A. Burkhardt
    Published By: MorningStar Music Publishers, Inc. (1999) pp. 25
  • Thine the Praise Volume 2: Organ Meditations on the Hymn Tunes of Carl Schalk
    Composer/Editor Robert J. Powell
    Published By: Concordia Publishing House (1994) pp. 14

Piano Solo

  • Pianoforte Christmas
    Composer/Editor Jeremy Young
    Published By: Augsburg Fortress (1996) pp. 25


Instances (1 - 6 of 6)
Text InfoAudio

Glory to God #125

Hymnal Supplement 1991 #729

Hymnal Supplement II #26

RitualSong #512

Voices United #40

With One Voice #636

Suggestions or corrections? Contact us


It looks like you are using an ad-blocker. Ad revenue helps keep us running. Please consider white-listing or subscribing to eliminate ads entirely and help support