MONTAGUE (Schubert)

MONTAGUE (Schubert)

Composer: Franz Schubert
Published in 2 hymnals

Composer: Franz Schubert

Franz Peter Schubert, 31 January 1797 – 19 November 1828) was an Austrian composer. In a short lifespan of just 31 years, Schubert was a prolific composer, writing some 600 Lieder, nine symphonies (including the famous "Unfinished Symphony"), liturgical music, operas, some incidental music, and a large body of chamber and solo piano music. Appreciation of Schubert's music during his lifetime was limited, but interest in his work increased significantly in the decades following his death. Franz Liszt, Robert Schumann, Johannes Brahms and Felix Mendelssohn, among others, discovered and championed his works in the 19th century. Today, Schubert is seen as one of the leading exponents of the early Romantic era in music and he remains one of… Go to person page >

Tune Information

Title: MONTAGUE (Schubert)
Composer: Franz Schubert
Incipit: 55117 12371 17622
Copyright: Public Domain


O Holy Lord, content to live [fill]

O Thou through suffering perfect made

O Thou thro' suffering perfect made,
On Whom the bitter cross was laid;
In hours of sickness, grief, and pain,
No sufferer turns to Thee in vain.

Go to text page...


Instances (1 - 2 of 2)
Page Scan

New Manual of Praise #519

Page Scan

New Manual of Praise #520

Suggestions or corrections? Contact us