So far in 2023, 13 million people from 200-plus countries around the world have benefitted from the Hymnary website! Thank you to all who use and all who support it with gifts of time, talent and treasure. If you feel moved to support our work today with a gift of any amount and a word of encouragement, we would be grateful. You can donate online at our secure giving site. Or, if you'd like to make a gift by check, please send it to:, Calvin University, 3201 Burton Street SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49546. May the hope, love, joy and peace of Advent be yours this day and always.

Your donation:

ROTHWELL (Tans'ur)

ROTHWELL (Tans'ur)

Composer: William Tans'ur
Published in 88 hymnals

Printable scores: PDF, MusicXML
Audio files: MIDI

Composer: William Tans'ur

William Tansur, b. about 1700, Dunchurch of Barnes; d. 1783, St. Neots Evangelical Lutheran Hymnal, 1908 Also known as Tansur; Tanzer; le Tansur Go to person page >

Tune Information

Title: ROTHWELL (Tans'ur)
Composer: William Tans'ur
Incipit: 13515 43212 34556
Key: E♭ Major
Copyright: Public Domain



Organ Solo

  • The Sacred Organ Journal Volume 11 Number 3 January 1977: A Bi-Monthly Anthology for Church Organists
    Composer/Editors David H. Hegarty; Blythe Owen
    Published By: Lorenz Publishing Company (1977) pp. 62
  • The Sacred Organ Folio No. 14
    Composer/Editor Blythe Owen
    Published By: Lorenz Publishing Company (1976) pp. 62


The Cyber Hymnal #2459
Text: He Lives! The Great Redeemer Lives!
  • Adobe Acrobat image (PDF)
  • Noteworthy Composer score (NWC)
  • XML score (XML)
The Cyber Hymnal #10492
Text: Earth's Transitory Things Decay
  • PDF (PDF)
  • Noteworthy Composer Score (NWC)


Instances (1 - 2 of 2)

The Cyber Hymnal #2459


The Cyber Hymnal #10492

Include 86 pre-1979 instances
Suggestions or corrections? Contact us