Celebrate 10 years of Hymnary.org!

It's Hymnary's 10th birthday this month and to celebrate, we're giving the gifts! Want a free FlexScore? Look for the "Claim Free FlexScore" button on any public domain FlexScore page and enjoy a complimentary FlexScore on us.

378. Spirit of God, Descend upon My Heart

1 Spirit of God, descend upon my heart;
wean it from earth, through all its pulses move;
stoop to my weakness, strength to me impart,
and make me love you as I ought to love.

2 I ask no dream, no prophet ecstasies,
no sudden rending of the veil of clay,
no angel visitant, no opening skies,
but take the dimness of my soul away.

3 Hast you not bid me love you, God and King;
all, all your own, soul, heart and strength and mind?
I see your cross: there teach my heart to cling.
O let me seek you and O let me find!

4 Teach me to love you as your angels love,
one holy passion filling all my frame,
the baptism of the heaven-descended dove,
my heart an altar and your love the flame.

Text Information
First Line: Spirit of God, descend upon my heart
Title: Spirit of God, Descend upon My Heart
Author: George Croly (1854, alt.)
Publication Date: 1996
Meter: 10 10 10 10
Topic: Holy Spirit: Praise and Invocation; Assurance; Christian Year: Pentecost (28 more...)
Tune Information
Composer: Frederick C. Atkinson (1870)
Composer (descant): C. David Cameron (1994)
Meter: 10 10 10 10
Key: B♭ Major
Copyright: Descant copyright © 1994 C. David Cameron.

More media are available on the text authority and tune authority pages.

Suggestions or corrections? Contact us