Dear Friend of Hymnary,

As you know, we don't ask for money too often. But we're asking now.

So before you hit the "close" button on this box, please consider a donation to keep Hymnary going.

More than half a million people come here every month -- worship leaders, hymnologists, hymn lovers and more -- people who now have access to the most complete database of North American hymnody on the planet thanks to this site. But keeping all of this afloat does not come without a cost, and we have limited sources of revenue. So if you benefit from, would you please consider a donation today? Even small amounts help, and they also let us know you're behind us and support what we do.

You can make your tax-deductible contribution by clicking the Donate button below, or you can send a check to Hymnary at 3201 Burton SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49546.

On behalf of the entire Hymnary team,
Harry Plantinga

Bless Jehovah, O My Soul

Full Text

1 I have found sweet peace today,
Joy beyond compare;
Christ the Savior heard me pray,
I am in His care.

Bless Jehovah, O my soul,
Bless the Holy Lamb;
Comes sweet peace beyond control,
Blest indeed I am!

2 I am safe within His fold,
He's my Shepherd true,
I am sheltered from the cold,
From the winds that blew. [Refrain]

3 He has calmed my fears for me,
I'll obey His will;
Like the waves on Galilee,
He has made them still. [Refrain]

4 Bless Jehovah, O my soul!
Jesus reigns above;
Mine is joy beyond control,
Mine is joy and love. [Refrain]

Source: New Sacred Quartettes for Male, Female and Mixed Voices #9

Author: Thomas R. Sweatmon

(no biographical information available about Thomas R. Sweatmon.) Go to person page >

Text Information

First Line: I have found sweet peace today
Title: Bless Jehovah, O My Soul
Author: Thomas R. Sweatmon
Language: English
Refrain First Line: Bless Jehovah, O my soul
Publication Date: 1914
Copyright: This text in in the public domain in the United States because it was published before 1923.