Jesus Is Coming

Jesus is coming, sing the glad word

Author: D. W. Whittle
Tune: [Jesus is coming! sing the glad word]
Published in 19 hymnals

Printable scores: PDF, MusicXML, Noteworthy Composer

Representative Text

1. Jesus is coming! O sing the glad word!
Coming for those He redeemed by His blood,
Coming to reign as the glorified Lord!
Jesus is coming again!

Jesus is coming, is coming again!
Jesus is coming again!
Shout the glad tidings o’er mountain and plain!
Jesus is coming again!

2. Jesus is coming! The dead shall arise,
Loved ones shall meet in a joyful surprise,
Caught up together to Him in the skies
Jesus is coming again! [Refrain]

3. Jesus is coming! His saints to release;
Coming to give to the warring earth peace:
Sinning and sighing, and sorrow shall cease.
Jesus is coming again. [Refrain]

4. Jesus is coming! The promise is true;
Who are the chosen, the faithful, the few,
Waiting and watching, prepared for review?
Jesus is coming again! [Refrain]

Source: The Cyber Hymnal #3340

Author: D. W. Whittle

[Also published under the pseudonym El Nathan.]… Go to person page >

Text Information

First Line: Jesus is coming, sing the glad word
Title: Jesus Is Coming
Author: D. W. Whittle
Language: English
Refrain First Line: Jesus is coming, is coming again
Copyright: Public Domain



The Cyber Hymnal #3340
  • Adobe Acrobat image (PDF)
  • Noteworthy Composer score (NWC)
  • XML score (XML)


Instances (1 - 1 of 1)

The Cyber Hymnal #3340

Include 18 pre-1979 instances
Suggestions or corrections? Contact us