Feneberg, Johann Michael, was born Feb. 9, 1751, at Oberdorf, Allgäu, Bavaria. He was for some time tutor in St. Paul’s College, at Regensburg, and in 1785 was appointed professor in the Gymnasium at Dillingen. In 1793 he became parish priest of Seeg, in Allgäu, where he had as assistants Christoph Schmid, Martin Boos and Johannes Gossner; but in 1805, on account of his Evangelical teaching, was removed to Vohringen, near Ulm, where he died Oct. 12, 1812.
The only hymn by him translation into English is:—
Liebe und ein Kreuz dazu. [Cross and Consolation.) Of the origin of this beautiful hymn Koch, vi. 554, relates that it was "written at Seeg in 1794, as he, in the experience of the blessings of the cross after the amputation of… Go to person page >