O Let Him Whose Sorrow

Representative Text

1 O let him, whose sorrow
No relief can find,
Trust in God, and borrow
Ease for heart and mind.
Where the mourner weeping
Sheds the secret tear,
God His watch is keeping,
Though none else is near.

2 God will never leave thee,
All thy wants he knows,
Feels the pains that grieve thee,
Sees thy cares and woes:
Raise thine eyes to heaven
When thy spirits quail,
When, by tempests driven,
Heart and courage fail.

3 All thy woe and sadness,
In this world below,
Balance not the gladness
Thou in heaven shalt know.
When thy gracious Saviour
In the realms above
Crowns thee with His favor,
Fills thee with His love.


Source: The Hymnal: published by the Authority of the General Assembly of the Presbyterian Church in the U.S.A. #648

Author: Heinrich S. Oswald

Oswald, Heinrich Siegmund, son of Johann Heinrich Oswald or Osswald, of Nimmersatt, near Liegnitz, in Silesia, was born at Nimmersatt, June 30, 1751. After passing through the school at Schmiedeberg he was for seven years clerk in a public office at Breslau. In 1773 he became Secretary to the Landrath von Prittwitz at Glatz, with whom he remained two years, and was thereafter in business at Hamburg and at Breslau. Through J. D. Hermes, Oberconsistorialrath at Potsdam, whose daughter he married, he became acquainted with King Friedrich Wilhelm II. of Prussia, and in 1791 was appointed reader to the king. He accordingly removed to Potsdam, and was in 1791 appointed also Geheimrath. After the king's death, on Nov. 16, 1797, Oswald received a p… Go to person page >

Translator: Frances Elizabeth Cox

Cox, Frances Elizabeth, daughter of Mr. George V. Cox, born at Oxford, is well known as a successful translator of hymns from the German. Her translations were published as Sacred Hymns from the German, London, Pickering. The 1st edition, pub. 1841, contained 49 translations printed with the original text, together with biographical notes on the German authors. In the 2nd edition, 1864, Hymns from the German, London, Rivingtons, the translations were increased to 56, those of 1841 being revised, and with additional notes. The 56 translations were composed of 27 from the 1st ed. (22 being omitted) and 29 which were new. The best known of her translations are "Jesus lives! no longer [thy terrors] now" ; and ”Who are these like stars appeari… Go to person page >

Text Information

First Line: O let him whose sorrow
Title: O Let Him Whose Sorrow
German Title: Wem in Leidenstagen
Author: Heinrich S. Oswald (1826)
Translator: Frances Elizabeth Cox (1841)
Meter: D
Language: English
Copyright: Public Domain



The Cyber Hymnal #5073
  • Adobe Acrobat image (PDF)
  • Noteworthy Composer score (NWC)
  • XML score (XML)


Instances (1 - 1 of 1)

The Cyber Hymnal #5073

Include 70 pre-1979 instances
Suggestions or corrections? Contact us