Please give today to support during one of only two fund drives we run each year. Each month, Hymnary serves more than 1 million users from around the globe, thanks to the generous support of people like you, and we are so grateful. 

Tax-deductible donations can be made securely online using this link.

Alternatively, you may write a check to CCEL and mail it to:
Christian Classics Ethereal Library, 3201 Burton SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49546

The Everlasting Hills

O the music rolling onward

Author: Fanny J. Crosby
Tune: TOPEKA (Sankey)
Published in 5 hymnals

Printable scores: PDF, MusicXML
Audio files: MIDI

Representative Text

1. Oh, the music rolling onward,
Through the boundless regions bright,
Where the King in all His beauty
Is the glory and the light!
Where the sunshine of His presence
Every wave of sorrow stills,
And the bells of joy are ringing
On the everlasting hills.

2. Oh, the music rolling onward
Like a mighty ocean tide—
Oft I seem to hear its echoes,
While to earth they softly glide!
And there comes to me a vision
That my soul with rapture thrills,
For I stand by faith uplifted
On the everlasting hills.

3. When I wake amid the splendor
That I see but dimly now,
And behold the crown of jewels
That adorns my Savior’s brow,
Where eternal spring abideth,
And the sky no darkness fills—
How my grateful heart shall praise Him
On the everlasting hills.

Source: The Cyber Hymnal #1390

Author: Fanny J. Crosby

Pseudonymns: A.V., Mrs. A. E. Andrews, Mrs. E. A. Andrews, Mrs. E. L. Andrews, James L. Black, Henrietta E. Blair, Charles Bruce, Robert Bruce, Leah Carlton, Eleanor Craddock, Lyman G. Cuyler, D.H.W., Ella Dare, Ellen Dare, Mrs. Ellen Douglass, Lizzie Edwards. Miss Grace Elliot, Grace J. Frances, Victoria Frances, Jennie Garnett, Frank Gould, H. D. K., Frances Hope, Annie L. James, Martha J. Lankton [Langton], Grace Lindsey, Maud Marion, Sallie Martin, Wilson Meade, Alice Monteith, Martha C. Oliver, Mrs. N. D. Plume, Kate Smiley, Sallie Smith, J. L. Sterling, John Sterling, Julia Sterling, Anna C. Storey, Victoria Stuart, Ida Scott Taylor, Mary R. Tilden, Mrs. J. B. Thresher, Hope Tryaway, Grace Tureman, Carrie M. Wilson, W.H.D. Frances… Go to person page >

Text Information

First Line: O the music rolling onward
Title: The Everlasting Hills
Author: Fanny J. Crosby
Language: English
Copyright: Public Domain



The Cyber Hymnal #1390
  • Adobe Acrobat image (PDF)
  • Noteworthy Composer score (NWC)
  • XML score (XML)


Instances (1 - 1 of 1)

The Cyber Hymnal #1390

Include 4 pre-1979 instances
Suggestions or corrections? Contact us