On Olivet a Little Band

On Olivet a little band

Author: Samuel J. Stone (1866)
Published in 2 hymnals

Printable scores: PDF, MusicXML
Audio files: MIDI

Representative Text

1. On Olivet a little band
Around their risen Master stand:
And after charge and blessing giv’n,
He passeth from them into Heav’n.

2. Wistful their eyes, but angels twain
Cheer them with glorious words: Again
One day shall Jesus even so
Return, as ye have seen Him go.

3. Till then in Heav’n He doth remain,
True God, at God’s right hand to reign,
True Man, at human woes to grieve,
True God, almighty to relieve.

4. For every soul in every need
He ever lives to intercede,
Presenting there within the veil
A sacrifice that cannot fail.

5. Our heav’nly great high priest He stands:
By piercèd feet, and piercèd hands,
By bleeding brow and ’riven side,
He lives to plead for whom He died!

6. Whom have we, Lord, in Heav’n but Thee?
Like ships safe moored on stormy sea
Our souls in peril, with Thee there
Find anchorage of hope and prayer.

7. Set loose from earth, and evermore
Fast bound to that eternal shore,
So all our life and love shall be,
Ascended Master, hid with Thee!

Author: Samuel J. Stone

Stone, Samuel John, a clergyman of the Church of England, the son of Rev. William Stone, was born at Whitmore, Staffordshire, April 25, 1839. He was educated at Pembroke College, Oxford, where he was graduated B.A. in 1862. Later he took orders and served various Churches. He succeeded his father at St. Paul's, Haggerstown, in 1874. He was the author of many original hymns and translations, which were collected and published in 1886. His hymns are hopeful in spirit and skillfully constructed. He published several poetic volumes. He died November 19, 1900 --Hymn Writers of the Church, 1915 (Charles Nutter)… Go to person page >

Text Information

First Line: On Olivet a little band
Title: On Olivet a Little Band
Author: Samuel J. Stone (1866)
Source: Lyra Fidelium; Twelve Hymns of the Twelve Articles of the Apostle's Creed (London: Messrs. Parker and Co., 1866)
Language: English
Notes: Alternate tunes: CANONBURY, Robert Schumann, 1839; DEUS TUORUM MILITUM, Grenoble Antiphoner, 1753; ELNO, German chorale arranged by Conrad Kocher, 1786-1872
Copyright: Public Domain


The Cyber Hymnal #5262
  • Adobe Acrobat image (PDF)
  • Noteworthy Composer score (NWC)
  • XML score (XML)


Instances (1 - 1 of 1)

The Cyber Hymnal #5262

Include 1 pre-1979 instance
Suggestions or corrections? Contact us