Please give today to support during one of only two fund drives we run each year. Each month, Hymnary serves more than 1 million users from around the globe, thanks to the generous support of people like you, and we are so grateful. 

Tax-deductible donations can be made securely online using this link.

Alternatively, you may write a check to CCEL and mail it to:
Christian Classics Ethereal Library, 3201 Burton SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49546

Wait! Wait! Jesus Will Come!

Watch ye and wait, O brethren of God

Author: Edward S. Ufford
Tune: [Watch ye and wait, O brethren of God]
Published in 7 hymnals

Printable scores: PDF, Noteworthy Composer
Audio files: MIDI

Representative Text

1 Watch ye and wait, O brethren of God,
Wait for the coming of Jesus our Lord;
Ages have passed, yet bright grows the dawn,
Jesus has promised to come in the morn.

Wait! wait! Jesus will come,
Soon will our bridegroom descend from His throne;
Wait! wait! Jesus will come,
Jesus is coming again to His own.

2 Steadfastly wait, and patiently pray,
Thus did our fathers who wished for the day;
Cheerful they toiled and calmly did die,
Waiting for Jesus to come from the sky. [Refrain]

3 Some day the sky will part like a scroll,
Over the earth will the judgment trump roll;
But to the saints ’twill happiness bring,
Since they have waited so long for their king. [Refrain]

Source: The Cyber Hymnal #12943

Author: Edward S. Ufford

(no biographical information available about Edward S. Ufford.) Go to person page >

Text Information

First Line: Watch ye and wait, O brethren of God
Title: Wait! Wait! Jesus Will Come!
Author: Edward S. Ufford
Language: English
Refrain First Line: Wait, wait Jesus will come
Copyright: Public Domain



The Cyber Hymnal #12943
  • PDF (PDF)
  • Noteworthy Composer Score (NWC)


Instances (1 - 1 of 1)

The Cyber Hymnal #12943

Include 6 pre-1979 instances
Suggestions or corrections? Contact us