We Wait His Coming

We wait the coming of the Lord

Author: Daniel R. Lucas
Tune: [We wait the coming of the Lord]
Published in 8 hymnals

Printable scores: PDF, Noteworthy Composer
Audio files: MIDI

Representative Text

1 We wait the coming of the Lord,
The Savior reigning now above;
The promise of His holy Word,
He shall confirm in truth and love.

O wait, calmly wait, for He will come;
O wait, He will come and bring us home;
O wait, calmly wait, for He will come;
O wait, He will come and bring us home.

2 We wait the coming of our friend,
Who loves us with immortal love;
And shall Himself from Heav’n descend,
And bring us to our home above. [Refrain]

3 We wait the coming of the King,
Who holds the key of every grave,
Who will the palms of victory bring,
And all His loyal people save. [Refrain]

Source: The Cyber Hymnal #11940

Author: Daniel R. Lucas

Daniel Robertson Lucas, b. Belvidere, Boone County, Ill., January 14, 1840; m. Mary Longley in 1862; joined 99th Indiana Volunteer Infantry and appointed chaplain of the regiment; later studied for the ministry; in 1876, settled in Des Moines, Iowa, where he pastored the Central Christian Church and helped found Drake University; Department Commander of the Grand Army of the Republic and secretary of the Morton Monument Commission; d. March 11, 1907 From Daniel R. Lucas papers, WWW site, Mar. 18, 2004… Go to person page >

Text Information

First Line: We wait the coming of the Lord
Title: We Wait His Coming
Author: Daniel R. Lucas
Refrain First Line: O wait, calmly wait
Copyright: Public Domain



The Cyber Hymnal #11940
  • PDF (PDF)
  • Noteworthy Composer Score (NWC)


Instances (1 - 2 of 2)
Page Scan

Sacred Selections for the Church #340


The Cyber Hymnal #11940

Include 6 pre-1979 instances
Suggestions or corrections? Contact us


It looks like you are using an ad-blocker. Ad revenue helps keep us running. Please consider white-listing Hymnary.org or subscribing to eliminate ads entirely and help support Hymnary.org.