The Day of Judgment

Awake, ye sleeping souls, awake

Author: J. Hart
Published in 12 hymnals

Printable scores: PDF, Noteworthy Composer
Audio files: MIDI

Representative Text

1 Awake, ye sleeping souls, awake,
And hear the God of Israel speak:
His word is faithful, firm, and true:
Sinners, attend! he speaks to you.

2 Mercy and vengeance in me dwell;
One lifts to heaven, one casts to hell;
My favour’s more than life, my wrath
Will burn beyond the bounds of death.

3 Short is the space, and death must come;
And, after death, the day of doom;
When quick and dead the Judge shall call,
And deal their due deserts to all.

4 Fix'd in their everlasting state,
Could men repent, ’twere then too late;
Justice has bolted mercy’s door,
And God’s long-suffering is no more.

5 ’Tis now the gospel message sent
Commands repentance; now repent:
Wisely be warned to refuge run,
Obey the Father; kiss the Son.

6 In Christ receive the gift of God,
Complete redemption through his blood:
Mercy triumphant: sin forgiven;
And everlasting life in heaven.

Source: A Selection of Hymns for Public Worship. In four parts (10th ed.) (Gadsby's Hymns) #846

Author: J. Hart

Hart, Joseph, was born in London in 1712. His early life is involved in obscurity. His education was fairly good; and from the testimony of his brother-in-law, and successor in the ministry in Jewin Street, the Rev. John Hughes, "his civil calling was" for some time "that of a teacher of the learned languages." His early life, according to his own Experience which he prefaced to his Hymns, was a curious mixture of loose conduct, serious conviction of sin, and endeavours after amendment of life, and not until Whitsuntide, 1757, did he realize a permanent change, which was brought about mainly through his attending divine service at the Moravian Chapel, in Fetter Lane, London, and hearing a sermon on Rev. iii. 10. During the next two years ma… Go to person page >

Text Information

First Line: Awake, ye sleeping souls, awake
Title: The Day of Judgment
Author: J. Hart
Language: English
Copyright: Public Domain



The Cyber Hymnal #10012
  • PDF (PDF)
  • Noteworthy Composer Score (NWC)


Instances (1 - 1 of 1)

The Cyber Hymnal #10012

Include 11 pre-1979 instances
Suggestions or corrections? Contact us